Believing is Not Seeing

Have you ever wondered if your prayers are making any difference? Have you ever prayed for something for a long time and seen absolutely no change in things?

If we are honest, we would all answer yes to these questions. So, some would wonder, why pray?

I recently had a wonderful opportunity to work with a handicapped young woman who could hardly speak. She understood what was being spoken to her and followed direction, for the most part, with a bit of coaxing.

But as we worked together, I had no idea if anything I was doing or saying was actually making an impact on her. I was working hard to show her love, kindness, respect, and understanding but did not see any sign that any of this was getting through to her.

As our time together came to a close, I was saying goodbye to her and completely out of the blue, she took her hand and placed it in mine – her fingers intertwined with mine – and we walked out of the room hand in hand.

It was at that moment that I knew that she had sensed the love and kindness I was trying to show her. And a flood of warmth and joy overwhelmed me.

It was as if God was saying to me – just because you cannot see me at work (right now) does not mean that I am not listening, I am not hearing, I am not caring, I am not working! I AM, He says!

Then Jesus told Thomas, ‘Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet believed.” – John 20:29.

God desires for us to trust Him not because of what we can see … but because of who He is.

And so we know and rely on the love God has for us. God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him.” – 1 John 4:16

Leave a Reply

